Possessive pronouns (my, your, his, her, our, their) are used to indicate ownership of something.

For example, in English, if a person wants to express his possession of a pen, he would say, “This pen is mine”.

In Arabic however “The Possessive Pronouns” are suffixes (one or two letters attached at the end of a word) attached to the nouns only e.g., if a person wants to say, “This pen is mine” or “This is my pen”, in Arabic” he would say: هذَا قَلَمِيْ.

قَلَمِيْ

قَلَم+يْ

my+pen

Look at the following examples:

Masculine words

This is my house

هَـٰذَا بَيْتِي

This is my masjid

هَـٰذَا مَسْجِدِيْ

This is my brother

هَـٰذَا أَخِيْ

This is my father

هَـٰذَا أَبِيْ

Note that for feminine words, ” ة “ is written as ” تِـ “ when ” يْ “ is added. For examples,

Feminine words

This is my car

هذِهِ سَيَّارَتِيْ

This is my bicycle

هذِهِ دَرَّاجَتِيْ

This is my sister

هذِهِ أُخْتِيْ

This is my mother

هذِهِ أُمِّيْ

Check the following stuff for lesson 8:

Flash Card | Online Quiz | Scatter

Note: please let me know if you find any mistakes.

Leave a Reply

